Let’s Draw … Spring

Oil pastels are different.  I watched a bunch of oil pastel speed painting videos on YouTube last night.

I’d prefer to paint if it weren’t for the set up and clean up time.  They’re different, which is why this turned out a little psychedelic.  I don’t know how to do muted colors.  I started to get the hang of it at a few points.

Had to put some elbow into the blending stumps.

4 Responses to “Let’s Draw … Spring”

  1. Janna

    Wow, looks great! Wish I had some talent like that for connecting eye to hand to paper. I know you’ve had lots of practice too.

    Is that paper you are working on?

    -Janna

    Reply
  2. garyarthuryoung

    Janna!

    It feels good to get back into it. Visual stuff. It’s been a long time but it doesn’t really go away. The painting classes and photography — I think they’ve improved some things.

    My attention span muscles, however, apparently need working out. Don’t really know what I’m doing with oil pastels.

    It is paper. Dual-sided. I used the textured side, as you can see, but the pastel kept getting “pooled” in the divots. I’m not sure if that’s good or bad.

    I think everybody should draw something, whether they feel like they’re good at it or not. Draw/sketch or whatever.

    Reply
  3. Janna

    I got myself some acrylics and cheap canvases last year – I have zero talent or training, but there’s still something fulfilling about producing visual art just for the sake of it.

    Keep up the good work. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a comment